TREMEC Distributor Spotlight     click the link to read



 

     What Customers had to say:

ï”Fast shipping and top-notch quality and machine work. I purchased their adapter plate to mate my ford 200 to a t5 in my 65 mustang .. A++”

Michael S

Adapter Plate Fix

“Thanks, Paul!

Your bleeder kit and videos did the trick. I bled it using your procedure and adjusted the slave using your video and it’s working great and the pedal feels perfect.

Thanks again!”
Kyle

Your Video Did The Trick

“Wiring up my T56 Magnum XL in a 2014 Mustang GT has been a very complicated and difficult experience. However, Bruce at Modern Driveline has gone above and beyond to provide outstanding customer service, even considering I did not buy the transmission from them.
The colors of the wires changed for the 2014 year model which led to confusion initially. In addition, the reverse lockout box has yet to work consistently.
Bruce made it a point to troubleshoot all of the issues on a day-by-day basis. He contacted Ford and Accutach to search for a solution to my dilemma while remaining available to my relentless questions. Although I am still having problems getting everything straightened out, regardless of the outcome, it should be known that Bruce at Modern Driveline is an example of how customer service should be done.
Thanks Bruce!”

R. Christian

Modern Driveline (owner)

 

“Thank you Richard. We have not seen the problem before but thank you for your patience.
We will overcome it and find a resolution.”
Modern Driveline is an example of how customer service should be done.
I cannot find enough superlatives to describe this outfit … Outstanding and stellar come immediately to mind.
Casual treatment by another vendor left me with the wrong parts (clutch kit) which I unknowingly installed. Number one, they picked up the phone, and then troubleshooted the problem, educated me and let me choose the solution. I was so impressed by their (Bret) knowledge that I decided to get the replacement (correct) parts from them, The owner (Bruce) called me directly to dial in the parts order based on my driving (fast & furious) and fine tuned my parts order. … who does that? This outfit does!!! I have more projects I am working on and this is my new “Go To” company.
L. Stuart
Modern Driveline (owner)
Les, as the owner of the company I need to know whats going on, I am very much involved with our daily transactions. We are going to reach out to make sure we are supplying the correct product for your project. Thank you for your support.
This Is My New “Go To” Company.

“I purchased a TKO 5 speed with all required components to connect to a 434 ci dart small block.
Very knowledgeable and helpful, a great experience.
Everything worked together and fit great, shifts, and drives great. I Highly recommend modern Driveline !”

K.Lillace

I Highly recommend modern Driveline

“Customer of 18 years says this is The Place!
I bought my transmission, cross member, and cable clutch from Bruce 17 years ago. My cable clutch is one of the best mods I’ve made in terms of driveability. Have not had a single issue (despite the fact that my car has seen many hard miles on the track and off). Yet when I’ve had questions Bruce has always been available, knowledgeable, and honest about what he thinks would work best for me. He supports his customers with integrity and honesty and I could not ask for a better partner to help me get what’s right for my car.
Over the years, I’ve seen Bruce at Open Track events with the Shelby club, sometimes walking the paddock saying Hi to many customers, sometimes strapping in for a session, answering a question for someone who might be considering a swap or, just as likely, getting his hands dirty helping someone with an issue that has popped up (we are NOT easy on our cars). The only thing I can add is a huge Thank You to Bruce for making sure I picked what I needed to keep my car going and for being such a stand-up guy.”

L. Coletto

Supports Customers With Integrity & Honesty

“This is the 2nd time that I have dealt with this company I give this company and Paul 5 stars because of the knowledge but courtesy and their Genuine interest in what I’m working on I cannot say enough about this company I will recommend and have recommended Modern DriveLine to every car enthusiast’s that I meet”

S. Lindley

Genuine Interest In What I’m Working On
“I was given the best rundown of advice for troubleshooting a problem by Bruce.
Probably saved me a round trip shipping of a trans and service charges to find no problem in it, but more likely a problem with clutch pilot alignment. It’s refreshing to get an expert who can be of such help.”
B. Robbins
Modern Driveline (owner)
“Thank you Bob for your review, we try hard to provide advice to save money and time. Let me know what you find with your issue.”
        Bruce
It’s Refreshing To Get an Expert Who Can Be Of Such Help

“I’ve been working on a 66 Mustang T5 conversion, life has a way of putting car projects on the back burner, 4 years later, life gives Me a break. I needed advice and some troubleshooting info.
Even after 4 years they still took the time to help me out. Good dudes!!!
Bruce and Paul are PHENOMENAL! A+ CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! I definitely recommend!”

D. Rodruigez

Modern Driveline
“Thank you Danny for your support. Lifetime tech support comes with every product.”
PHENOMENAL! A+ CUSTOMER SERVICE!

“Top Notch service and knowledge. I really rate these guys, they know their stuff. I
must admit I was a bit worried about ordering A full TKO600 gearbox kit from halfway around the other side of the world (I”m in New Zealand) but Bret in sales made it so easy and it was as if I was dealing with a business just around the corner.
Emails were returned extra speedy and nothing was a problem. Their years of experience also helped with what I needed and took any guesswork out of the purchase. Thanks, heaps guys. I’ll be back”

S. Howard

Modern Driveline (owner)
“Thanks for your review Steve. We understand how important it is to get it right the first time on international orders.”
Top Notch service and knowledge

MDL is a great company. For years I’ve been trying to solve a problem with the 6 speed I got from American Powertrain.
The master cylinder was always leaking and the car would barely shift. After at least 20 calls to the rude tech at American Powertrain, I had all but given up.
Browsing the internet I came across Modern Driveline and found their master cylinder setup for my ’67 Firebird.
I live nearby them and they had the part in stock and allowed me to come by and pick it up. The gentleman who helped me was very nice and got me taken care of very fast. This part MD-910-0102 is way better designed than the junky one I had before. Fixed the problem and my car shifts great now.
American Powertrain kept telling me I didn’t know what I was doing. I restore/ customize high-end muscle cars and hotrods so I knew it wasn’t me even though I started to doubt myself… MDL has a new customer for life.”

 

A. Curless

Modern Driveline (owner)
“Thanks Austin for your review. We offer the best products we can with the proper product support.
We felt that we are in the service business of selling the parts and not the other way around.”
MDL Has a New Customer For Life.

“After being lied to by the builder in Texas, MDL had the parts and knowledge to get my T-5 fixed Thank you Paul Coffee!!!”

T. Hauer

Modern Driveline 
“We treat folks the way we want to be treated. Even if you didn’t get your parts from us we will provide the best information we can based on information provided. Sometime projects don’t go well, we will put you back on the straight and narrow. Thanks Ted.”
MDL Has the Parts & Knowledge
“Bottom Line: Best prices and people to buy from. They know conversions better than anyone on earth. Excellent tech support no matter how long ago you bought the conversion. Drill down on the internet and you’ll see I’m giving you good advice. I upgraded a 66 Mustang Coupe from an automatic to the Tremec T5z that’s between a Boss 302 / 9″ rear end w 350 gears. I’m 60 years old and row the 5 speed gearbox better than when I was 18 in my 68 roadrunner… The hydraulic clutch makes the peddle action way easier. Wanna go, Bro?”
Modern Driveline (owner)
Thanks Eric for your review, no matter how long you have had one of our systems, we are here to answer your questions. Lifetime tech is always included with every purchase.
Bottom Line: Best Prices & People to Buy From.

“As a car enthusiast, a lifelong technician, and now an automotive instructor I’ve met a lot of great people in the automotive industry but no one tops Bruce and all the people at Modern Drive Line. They know their stuff front to back and run a business that is unmatched in the unique products they offer and unparalleled in customer service. They helped me pick the right parts for my ’66 Ford Fairlane T5 conversion and I couldn’t be happier. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!”

D. Marra

They know their stuff front to back
“Awesome customer service!
It’s not often you deal with a company with this level of quality people from sales and tech support! Paul and David have been great to deal with!
Met Bruce at the Good Guys show, he answered all my questions with honesty not just trying to sell me parts.
Thanks guys!”
R. Meeks
Modern Driveline (owner)
Thank you Richard, great meeting you at the show. We treat customers like we want to be treated.
It’s not often you deal with a company with this level of quality people

“Our customers and our Team at SHOP Automotive demand the highest quality parts available for our builds.
We exclusively use Modern Driveline for our manual transmissions as they are hands the best in the transmission business. They have world-class knowledge and only sell the best quality parts.
Do yourself a favor and do your job the right way with the right parts the first time, pick up the phone, and only call Modern Driveline.
Thank you so much for taking care of all of our customers and our own transmission needs Bruce and Team!”

D. Spencer

Do yourself a favor and do your job the right way with the right parts the first time

“I researched several major vendors before swapping to a T56 transmission in my 3rd Gen. GM A-body. After asking a lot of questions from various vendors I felt like I was getting the straightest answers from this company. After I ordered everything from them they shipped quickly. I had a few questions during my installation and no matter who answered the phone there I got good answers. I would absolutely buy from them again.”

T Piini

I Would Absolutely Buy From Them Again.

“I usually don’t do reviews but after the amazing dealing with bruce and Bret, I had to post something. After calling and emailing many companies about a magnum xl swap for my boss 302. Everyone either had half the kit or wasn’t willing to work with me(aka if you don’t like how our kit is we don’t care basically ). I had been emailing Bret about the conversion. Got quotes and after a few emails back and forth was ready to purchase their kit. We couldn’t decide on what driveshaft to run based on what I was doing with the car. Enter in bruce the owner of the company, Bret got him involved and he contacted me directly on my plans for the car. We talked about different options and what he felt was best for my power level (817rwhp) and what I’m doing with the car( drag race.street car). We settled with a Qa1 carbon fiber driveshaft. Locked in the deal and got everything ordered. All parts in stock and to my door in less than 2 weeks. Fast forward a couple of weeks later, during install had a part malfunction, nothing to do with install or just a bad out of the box part. Also, the few things not seen before by them or Tremec. After contacting Modern Driveline about the issue. Again was contacted by Bruce trying to get things figured out Took pictures of my issues. He got with Tremec and we got everything settled out. He kept my car from being down due to a parts issue and immediately got me another part out. Been wrenching for years and have dealt with a lot of companies. Some good some bad.. Bruce and his team, were great before, during, and after the sale. I highly recommend ANYONE looking for transmission conversions, driveshafts, or anything else drivetrain related. Reach out to them first. I can tell you, you won’t be disappointed.”

W. Phillips

I usually don’t do reviews… The Staff at MDL we’re Great

“I ordered a Tilton clutch and flywheel kit for my 2011 Mustang GT with a T56 swap. They knew every part I needed (and didn’t need) off the top of their head. Everything arrived as ordered in a short time with full instructions, which is a really nice touch when not using stock parts. It all installed smoothly and works great. I’ve ordered parts from a lot of other places and usually, you only get a few of the above points. You guys hit them all. Thank you!”

J. Heckman

It All Installed Smoothly & Works Great.

“I simply cannot say enough about how AMAZING these guys are. Special thanks to Paul Coffey and his extensive knowledge and willingness to help.
He guided me through the entire process and provided even the smallest details. Price plus knowledge simply the best.”

T. Portilla

Price Plus Knowledge Simply the Best

“I purchased a full transmission conversion kit for my 1955 chevy. Tremec 5 speed trans, bell housing, clutch, and a hydraulic clutch conversion. It all fit as planned and they were very helpful. I called with a lot of questions and they took their time and made sure I was installing it properly.”

S. Parker

’55 right the first time
10 weeks ago
“They built me a custom clutch. Works great.They have the experience to get you the right parts the first time. And they are probably the most knowledgeable company for a custom or regular build .Great American experience.”
Road Trippers
Modern Driveline (owner)
“Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We build clutches in house to provide the right clutch for the job. Feel free to contact us for your future needs”
Great American Experience
 4 weeks ago
“They set me up with everything I need to install my 5 speed in my 63 Falcon. They best thing was the service they provided when I had a question. When I had a problem I was able to message an employee who responded back on his day off. If I ever install another overdrive transmission in another car they will the first place I contact. The only reason for 4 stars was they set the wrong alignment tool and the speedometer cable was made wrong, the shaft that went into the speedometer was to long (so technically not their fault but they did provide it).”
J. Roman
Modern Driveline (owner)

4 weeks ago

“John, thank you for your honest review. You are correct the speedometer cable was not the normal model number, somehow 63 inch cable was sent when a 59″ is what is used. We did get that corrected for you in a timely matter. Not sure about the alignment tool issue as it normally comes with the clutch set as part of the BOM. Thanks for making it Modern.”
Everything I Needed
“I purchased a trans from them approx 12 years ago. I just called them about a concern and they pulled up my file and assisted right away. “
“Always good to know your not forgotten.”
R. Mottershead
Lifetime Tech Support
11/05/2020
I had a really good experience with MDL. Was very happy with the products, technical advise and service I got from them.
J Supran.
Really Good Experience
11/06/2020
I just placed an order for a Tremec T5 manual transmission for my 1972 Mustang with a 351 Cleveland engine. Bruce, the owner, walked me through the whole process and answered all my questions (BTW- i had a ton of questions). he helped navigate the process because i had no experience with transmission conversions. Bruce provided a lot of insight and was very patient with me, even though i had him on the phone for a very long time. aside from the professional advice and service, i think the most laudable attribute was his patience dealing with someone who doesnt know or understand the complexities of the stuff that he has to deal with every day. i should be getting my transmission in a week. i’ll follow-up with a subsequent review or an addendum to this, describing the experience of receiving it and installing it. until then, great customer service guys. thank you.
Mr. Shakoor
Modern Driveline (owner)

11/06/2020

You are very welcome. We want our customer to be well informed to make the proper purchase and be very happy with the end results. We realize this is a major purchase and there is a lot to take in. We have over 22 years of experience in the transmission conversion business which as allow us to provide some of the highest level of service and product offerings. At MDL you always get lifetime tech support.
B. Couture
Great Customer Service
“I’ve known Bruce and Modern Driveline for years.
The whole team is a huge wealth of knowledge and will take the time to talk through any idea or issue.

A fantastic source of great, high-quality parts that have been thoroughly researched, developed, and tested.”
Professionalism

“My 16-year-old son and I started October 1 last year. it’s his daily driver for school and work till snow, 302 5 speed – had everything off except cab. POR on all frames etc. Plenty of sound deadener which made a big difference. The bed is tongue n grove Tigerwood. Talented friend Hitch pin-striped Bob Swarm paint. Getting inner door panels soon to match the seat.
Thanks to the group for input and a place to answer questions.
Hope you dig it.”

 

 

A Father & Son’s Love of Trucks

One of our customers who purchased a complete TKO 5-speed upgrade package for his 1969 Mustang pushing 500hp was compelled to call and to extend his compliments to us.

 

“You guys nailed it !, it performs flawlessly, I just love it.”

“I can get out and hammer on it and feel confident.”

” It’s even better than you said it would be.”

 

K. Schneider

Performs Flawlessly

“I’ve installed your hydraulic kits on a couple of cars and I like that you make a quality product, it was easy to install and made a big difference.”

 

Tim from Michigan

 

You Make a Quality Product

“Thank you for putting out quality Parts that fit and work great.”

 

T. Bedard

Quality Parts that fit and work great.

“These guys are great!
Bought a kit from a third party and was missing a piece. Got no assistance from the third party so-called Driveline and out of courtesy, they mailed me the missing piece for free and was here within 3 days. Can’t beat that kind of service!”

 

Jersey Mustang

Can’t beat that kind of service!

Big shoutout to Paul at moderndriveline. We were able to fix the alignment issue with the clutch pedal linkage, clean up the clevis, and install bushings to keep the arm centered. What a difference! The clutch feels like it belongs in a little econobox. Perfect!

 

B. Newman
read more

Big Shout-out to Modern DriveLine

“I couldn’t be happier with the TKO-600 kit I bought from you guys. Makes the car so better to drive on the highway with a overdrive.”

– Cody Herning

 

 

 

 

 

I couldn’t be happier with the TKO-600 kit

Unboxing my Tremec TKO 600 and complete transmission kit from Modern Driveline!
This is probably the best and most comprehensive transmission kit available if you are building a Cobra replica.  Check them out, here

By: Metalcop

1.89k YouTube Subscribers

Cobra 427SC Replica Build Part 13 TKO 600 Unboxing!!

” I called this AM and spoke to Bruce on the pedal bolt. car is now driving amazing.
It has been parked for 10 years… I’ve owned it 33 years with the c4 trans.

The hydraulic clutch is awesome!  Trans shifts great!

Only negative…  my engine (351W with Holley 750 DP) has been tuned for high rpm of the loose converter C4… I can now see I’ll need some carb recalibration with the manual but that’s OK… so much fun to drive!  The engine acts confused lugging it at 1200 rpm.

One surprise… my car has an original bench seat which has a foldable center armrest.  The shifter location and body position are perfect to rest your elbow on the armrest!  Glad I left the original seats now, rather than aftermarket buckets.

 

Everything is just right; I cannot imagine it working out any better so thank you!

Brandon. “

65 Mustang-Everything is just right

March 27 

“Modern Driveline is a great company to work with.
Purchased a T-5 from them a few years ago and the customer service and technical support are unbeatable.”

   T. Petschke

Customer Service & Technical Support are Unbeatable

Here at the pics of the car I promised you!
Thanks again for all of your help, I couldn’t be happier with the end result of the conversion! 

 

 

I couldn’t be happier with the end result of the conversion

“I wanted to thank you personally and MDL  for your help in solving a transmission shifting problem I had been having for about 4 years. I’m not a mechanic but it is mostly what I do in my spare time.

After describing my symptoms to you, you said it sounded like an active input shaft and as it turns out you were right. My tranny goes in gear now with no issues.

I have been meaning to send this to you for a couple months but couldn’t find your email address.

Again thank you!

I’m on several Ford forums and anytime some one asks about tranny conversions I tell them to call MDL. 

Robert Ramey

Jacksonville Fl

Car is a Cobra kit car with a 462 FE  that I built in 1993.”.

Shelby
Just wanted to say Thanks !

” I spoke to you last week about the hydraulic clutch that was not disengaging fully on my 70 Mustang. I finally got time to work on the car today. I adjusted the clutch according to the new instructions, and it slightly improved it, but the transmission was still balky.
I bled it with the bleeder kit I ordered from you, and after a couple of false starts with brake fluid all over my driveway from the stopper popping out, I felt that I finally got an adequate bleed. I drove it, and it was fixed!  A pleasure to drive.
I had bled this system multiple times, had pros bleed the system, and I never got more than an inch of travel on the slave cylinder. Obviously, I had just enough of a trapped air bubble to prevent the slave cylinder from pushing the lever enough. I finally got a system with your bleeder where I could hold the stopper in place and inject the fluid at the recommended rate, and it worked. The mess cleaned up with some soap, and it is a pleasure to drive now! “

Thanks for the help!

John Casto.

If At First You Don’t Succeed

 

 

 

 

 

The clutch went out in our Dodge 2005 diesel truck. We did not know where to turn because we needed the truck to pull trailers in the back country. We called Modern DriveLine and they spoke with the clutch builder . Modern DriveLine built us a custom clutch that works perfectly. It shifts very smoothly and is completely reliable. You can’t ask for anything more when traveling in the back-country wilderness.
Thanks Modern DriveLine !

Jeff Beynon

Thanks Modern DriveLine !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one is going to be pretty cool as well, piano black ‘67 Mustang with 347 stroker engine and MDL’s TKO500 perfectly fitted 🙂

Piotr Deszkiewicz

Poland

Stroker engine & MDL’s TKO500 perfectly fitted

turn11.jpg (35974 bytes)

“First, let me say thank you one more time: your help and frank, honest answers were immensely helpful.  It was obvious from the start that you were more concerned with getting me the appropriate equipment than maximizing your profit.  Being able to get everything from one source and then to call you with questions was a great relief!

 

I absolutely LOVE the cable clutch – it is amazingly smooth and pedal effort has been greatly reduced.  It seems like a different car and, when I drive my friends 66 coupe (he took my old toploader) I can’t believe the difference!  In addition, the cable made the addition of headers a snap!  I went with the Hooker Super Comps and the cable fits right in between the tubes: the Z bar would have made installation a nightmare! “

I absolutely LOVE the cable clutch

“Thank you for the excellent choice at the Original Route 44 Show & Shine. I’m running pretty much everything you sell”.

Shelby cobra
Happy Cobra Owner with MDL Solution

“Hello modern DrivelLine

While cleaning out my mailbox I discovered an email draft about my Tiger transmission conversion that never got sent!.

Your conversion kit for putting the five-speed transmission in my 65 Tiger is just fantastic!

Danbury Competition Engines provided the clutch so he could include that in balancing the engine assembly.  Modern Driveline provided everything from there back.
This transmission is absolutely fantastic!  The clutch works beautifully and the shifter clicks into the 5 gears with such great precision.  It is SO much better than the old Toploader!!  The overdrive is greatly appreciated for out on the highway

For the installation, I opted to put the engine/transmission combination in from the top which proved to be extremely challenging to say the least.  I certainly recommend going in from the bottom as you and others have suggested.  But, it can be done from the top!  Everything fit in perfectly so I had no modifications to make to the car which was my utmost concern and requirement.

You had suggested that a different bore master cylinder would likely be required.  The stock Tiger master cylinder bore is 5/8″.  I had a 3/4″ bore identical Girling master cylinder in stock but, even that proved to be too small.  As I was up against a deadline to get to the Watkins Glen vintage races, I had to seek out something local and fast.  I discovered that the early 80s Jeep CJ7 used a 13/16″ Girling master cylinder and many parts stores had them in stock.  That turns out to be the best size for this conversion at least in my Tiger.

 

All in all, your transmission kit for the Tiger is just wonderful and the ONLY way to go for this conversion!  I just love it! “

Sunbeam Tiger- the ONLY way to go

“I would like to thank you for your great service and products. The T-5 fit like a glove. Replacing the T-10M with the T5z turned a car which was really a pain to drive on the street into a vehicle which I’d drive to New York without a thought! The Shelby now cruises at 70mph at 2,500 rpm, instead of 4,000 with the 4-speed. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with the results. The lower gears (1st, 2nd and 3rd) also greatly improved the cars acceleration. I couldn’t be more pleased and would highly recommend this conversion for any street driven early Mustang.“.

Shelby
I’m in Overdrive… Are you?

Good morning Bruce, Just wanted to let you know that I finally got to drive the AC…..The gearing feels great, the clutch and shifting are superb!!!
Thanks for all your help on this…
I love that T5!  I’m getting a *huge* increase in miles-per-gallon, due largely to the overdrive, plus perhaps the new manifolds to let the 289 exhale more directly.  And the general quality of the driving experience — to be turning 2000 RPM at 60MPH rather than 3000 RPM — is very welcome.

EPSON DSC picture

 

Shelby cobra
Superb Shifting

I went to Bruce at Modern Driveline wanting a 5 speed conversion that wouldn’t cut the bracing in the floor.
Everyone else told me it couldn’t be done…   He figured out how to do it and executed it beautifully.
The conversion completely transformed this car.
Now I get killer acceleration with 3.55s, and I can still cruise at 80 on the freeway. It rocks.

Falcon Flies Again

Just wanted to say what a great product you have. 
I installed the cross member this weekend and it fit great!! 
I tried to install another shops cross-member and it didn’t fit so I thought perhaps after 30 years that my car was somehow off…  Wrong,  I guess they just don’t take the kind of care when making a product you do or perhaps their test mule is off.  LOL!

 

Shelby
Fits Like A Gloveweb designer

Hi I’m Ron Bramlett, owner of Mustangs Plus, Inc. in Stockton, CA. In 1999 I ordered a T-5z with a .83 overdrive 5th gear for the use in my #4 Grabber Green fastback. The reason is that the stock .63 ratio is basically unusable in any performance driving. My hat’s off to Bruce for building me such a nice shifting and trouble free transmission.

Grab those gears – Ron Bramlett

Here is Richard Bramlett’s 1966 mustang coupe that is nicknamed the Colt 351.

It is equipped with a built 351W and a Modern DriveLine, custom built, T-5z. Richard built his 351W to produce a lot of torque so that he could drag race the Colt. With 25+ passes down the quarter mile, his best ET on street tires is a 12.6 seconds @ 113mph and with slicks 12.3 seconds @ 112mph.

 

Colt 351

Here is a 65 Mustang that had a T-10 Four speed with 4.10 rear gears.

The T-10 four speed was removed for a T-5z five speed with 3.25 rear gears. The original clutch linkage was removed for a clutch cable system. Drive-ablity and mileage have much improved.

I Made Mine Modern

WRITE YOUR TESTIMONIAL

Thank you again for choosing Modern DriveLine, we’re happy that you’re enjoying your driving experience once more.

Send Message